PSYCHOLOGY TALKS & COLLOQUIAFall 2017Winter 2018Spring 2018

 

In addition to the psychology department colloquia, we have weekly brown bag lunch talks at noon in our Goldman Library, to which everyone is invited. The developmental psychology area lunches meet on Mondays, the cognitive psychology lunches meet on Wednesdays, and the social/personality psychology lunches meet on Thursdays. Contact the psychology department or relevant faculty for further details.

All Talks & Colloquia

Thu. Sep. 28
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Kate Sweeny
UCR
 
Mon. Oct. 2
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Moral development is hard work
Arber Tasimi
Stanford University
 
Wed. Oct. 4
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Bilingual language experience shapes new language learning: Evidence after short-term training
Andrea Takahesu-Tabori
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Oct. 5
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Kyle Sauerberger
UCR
 
Mon. Oct. 9
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Deconstructing Coercive Parent-Child Interactions: Developing a Conceptual Model for Understanding Childrenís Anxiety
Jessica Borelli
UC Irvine
 
Thu. Oct. 12
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Jennifer Coons
UCR
 
Mon. Oct. 16
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Developmental perspectives on comorbidity in ADHD
Steve Lee
UCLA
 
Wed. Oct. 18
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
The Semantic Cognition in Language (SCiL) Application: Expanding Cognitionís Research Frontiers with iOS
Curt Burgess
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Oct. 19
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Mike Dooley
UCR
 
Mon. Oct. 23
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Reimagining Race, Disability & Juvenile Incarceration
Jyoti Nanda
UCLA
 
Wed. Oct. 25
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Do psychostimulants enhance cognition in healthy adults?
Lauren Whitehurst
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Oct. 26
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Pete Ditto
UC Irvine
 
Mon. Oct. 30
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Birds of a feather flock together: Similarity drives reasoning about affiliation and social groups
Zoe Liberman
UC Santa Barbara
 
Wed. Nov. 1
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
What You See Isnít Always What You Get, Or Is It?: Re-examining Semantic Priming from McGurk Stimuli
Josh Dorsi-Todaro
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Nov. 2
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Erica Baranski
UCR
 
Mon. Nov. 6
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
The development of social reasoning: The hidden social meaning of others' actions and objects
Adena Schachner
UC San Diego
 
Wed. Nov. 8
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Is consciousness a result of metacognitive computations?
Megan Peters
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Nov. 9
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Jacob Gray
UCR
 
Mon. Nov. 13
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
The Intergenerational Transmission of Risk in Depressed Parents and their Offspring
Lea Dougherty
University of Maryland College Park
 
Wed. Nov. 15
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
A computational and psychophysical approach to understand a class of visual motion illusions
Zili Liu
UCLA
 
Thu. Nov. 16
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Alex Karan
UCR
 
Mon. Nov. 20
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Neurodevelopmental approaches to resilience
Jennifer Silvers
UCLA
 
Wed. Nov. 22
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cancelled (before Thanksgiving)
 
Mon. Nov. 27
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Professional development
 
Wed. Nov. 29
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
TBA
Rebecca Davis
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Nov. 30
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Angelica Falkenstien
UCR
 
Mon. Dec. 4
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
No seminar
Area meeting
 
Wed. Dec. 6
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
TBA
Natsuki Atagi
UC Riverside