Department Contacts
Our Areas of Study



  • Professor Judith Kroll has been elected by the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as Chair-Elect of the Section Linguistics & Language Science.
  • Dr.  Michael  Furr was  presented the  Alumni of the Year  Award and presented at  the annual Psychology Department  Workshop September 2018.
  • Welcome to newly arriving Psychology faculty on campus this year (2018), Professor Jimmy Calanchini!
  • Dr. Carolyn Murray was awarded the  2018 Dr. William Montague Cobb award for special achievements in public health at the local level from the NAACP (July 2018).  Dr. Murray also was presented the CHASS Civic Engagement Award (June 2018).
  • Dr. Sonja Lyubomirsky was awarded the Society for Personality and Social Psychology Diener Award in Personality Psychology (2018) and the CHASS Research Lecturer Award (June 2018)
  • Dr. Elizabeth Davis was honored with UCR’s Junior Excellence in Teaching Award (June 2018).
  • Dr. Howard Friedman received a President’s Citation for Distinguished Service to the Western Psychological Association.
  • Dr. Rebekah Richert received an American Psychological Association Division 36 Virginia Sexton Mentoring Award (2018).
  • Dr. Kate Sweeny was awarded a Teresa and Byron Pollitt Endowed Term Chair (April 2018). (